Master Air Cadet & Instructor Cadet

Once you are a Senior cadet, the next stage in your classification training is Master Air Cadet.

This is the highest level of classification available to cadets.

Both Master Air Cadet and Instructor Cadet are only achievable after the cadets 16th birthday.

The Master Air Cadet syllabus consists of three exams, as with previous classifications, that are chosen from the following:

•  Aircraft Handling and Flying Techniques
•  Air Power
•  Piston Engine Propulsion
•  Jet Engine Propulsion
•  Rocketry
•  Airframes
•  Avionics and Aircraft Electrical Systems
•  Military Aircraft Systems
•  Basic Air Navigation
•  Basic Principles of Pilot Navigation
•  Advanced Radio and Radar - Download the revision pack by Sgt (ATC)Watson here.
•  Data Communications

Once Master Air Cadet has been passed, you will have earned a BTEC in Aviation Studies.

To pass Instructor Cadet you must take part in a Methods of Instruction (MOI) course, you are then assesed on your instructional capability.

Once Instructor Cadet has been completed then the cadet then wears a yellow lanyard which is worn on the shoulder and replaces the previous classification badges.


© Crown Copyright/ 1224 (Wharfedale) Sqn, unless otherwise stated.
Webmaster - Sgt (ATC) Sam White