The Duke of Edinburghs Award (DofE)

All cadets on squadron are encouraged to take part in the DofE award scheme. Some cadets take part through schools or other organisations, but many choose to do it through the Squadron.

You can take part in the award scheme if you are between the ages of 14 - 25. There are three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each of these has a different criteria for you to complete the level. Each level is broken down into 4 sections (5 for gold). Each section must successfully be completed in order to achieve the award. The sections are:

Service - Helping others in the community

Expedition - Train, plan and carry out a journey

Skill - Demonstrate an ability in almost any hobby, skill or interest

Physical Recreation - Take part in almost any kind of sport

Residential - (Gold award only) Taking part in a purposeful enterprise with young people not previously known to the participant

An advantage of having the award is that potential employers can see that you have certain qualities that many of your counterparts may not have. It demonstrates that you can work as part of a team, that you enjoy taking on new challenges, you have a higher level of self confidence and you also have leadership qualities. If you would like further information please visit the official ACO website or visit the DofE website.

For a 'How To' PowerPoint presentation on eDofE please click here.


© Crown Copyright/ 1224 (Wharfedale) Sqn, unless otherwise stated.
Webmaster - Sgt (ATC) Sam White